Conference Home
Short Courses
Keynote Speakers
Invited Sessions
Call For Papers
Student Awards
Location and Parking
NESS09 Pictures

NESS 2010 Sponsors:

Faculty of Arts & Sciences
Harvard University

Department of Statistics
Harvard University



Harvard NESS 2010
Planning Committee:

Edo Airoldi (Program Chair)
Department of Statistics
Email: airoldi at

Dale Rinkel (Local Co-Chair)
Department of Statistics
Email: symposia at

Steve Finch (Local Co-Chair)
Department of Statistics
Email: symposia at


Student Awards (2010 and Before)

Following are the names of past Best Student Paper winners:

2010 Student Award Winners:

Alexander Blocker, Department of Statistics, Harvard University
A Bayesian Approach to the Analysis of Time Symmetry in Light Curves: Reconsidering Scorpius X-1 Occultations
Advisor: Xiao-Li Meng

Keith A. Betts, Harvard School of Public Health and Dana Farber Cancer Institute
Robust Survival Prediction via Linear Transformation Models
Advisor: David P. Harrington

Mark Fiecas, Center for Statistical Sciences, Brown University
The Generalized Shrinkage Estimator For Spectral Analysis of Multivariate Time Series
Advisor: Hernando Ombao

Ada Lau, Oxford-Man Institute, University of Oxford
Spatiotemporal Kriging and Correlation Modeling of Wind Power Generation
Advisor: Patrick McSharry

Sihai Dave Zhao, Harvard School of Public Health and Dana Farber Cancer Institute
Principled Sure Independence Screening for Cox Models with Ultra-High-Dimensional Covariates
Advisor: Yi Li

Xianchao Xie, Department of Statistics, Harvard University
Multiple Imputation: A Negotiation of Two Parties
Advisor: Xiao-Li Meng

2009 IBM Student Award Winners:

Paul D. Baines, Department of Statistics, Harvard University
Bayesian Analysis of Stellar Populations
Advisor: Xiao-Li Meng

Xiaojing Wang, University of Connecticut
Augmented Estimating Equations for Semiparametric Panel Count Regression
Advisor: Jun Yan

Jian Zou, University of Connecticut
Vast Volatility Matrix Estimation for High-Frequency
Advisor: Yazhen Wang

Honorable Mention

Tasneem Zaihra, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Windsor, Canada
Interval estimation of risk difference for data sampled from clusters
Advisor: Sudhir Paul

2007 IBM Student Award Winners:

Sourish Das, University of Connecticut
Model Diagnostics for Generalized Linear Models
Advisor: Dipak K. Dey

Xiaohong Li, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
An Expectation Conditional Maximization Approach to Estimation of Malaria Haplotype Frequencies
Advisor: Andrea S. Foulkes

Jingchen Liu, Harvard University
Efficient Simulation for Large Deviation Probabilities of Sums of Heavy-tailed Increments
Advisors: Jose H. Blanchet and Xiao-Li Meng

Perfect Sampling of a Probit Model Posterior
Andrew Thomas, Harvard University
Advisor: Jose H. Blanchet

2005 IBM Student Award Winner:

Gopika R. Goswami, Harvard University
On Population Based Methods of Clustering
Advisor: Jun S. Liu